

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

MINUTES

Date: Tuesday 25 October 2022

Venue: Youth Central, 135 Thirteenth Ave, Tauranga

Attendees: Please see list of attendees attached as Appendix 1.

Introduction

Karakia led by Turi Ngatai

Welcome and brief introduction by the Chair of the meeting Te Horipo Karaitiana, Deputy Chair of Priority One, with special acknowledgement to the Executive Board members present and any Priority One Life Members present.

1. Apologies

• The apologies of those people listed in Appendix 2 were accepted, in particular those of MP Angie Warren-Clarke; Tauranga City Council Commissioners Anne Tolley and Bill Wasley, Executive Board members Simon Clarke, Fiona McTavish, John Holyoake and Peter Tinholt; Life Members Murray Denyer, Murray Hill, Keith Tempest, Tony de Farias, Bruce McCutcheon and Richard Cashmore.

2. Confirmation of 2021 Minutes

 The Chair confirmed that the minutes of the 2021 AGM had been circulated to members and called for agreement they are a true and accurate record of the last AGM.

Moved: Christina Finlayson Second: Richard Hopkins

There were no matters arising out of those minutes.

3. Reports

- To receive and consider the Chair and Chief Executive's report including the financial statements for the financial year ended 30 June 2022.
- The Chair opened up the floor for discussion or questions. No questions received.
- The Chair requested to adopt the approval of the report and financial statements.

Moved: Steve Saunders
Second: Kevin Palmer

Accepted Carried

4. Appointment of Auditors

• The Chair recommended Baker Tilly Staples Rodway be reappointed as auditors pursuant to clause 21 of the Rules of the Society.

Moved: Laura Murphy Second: Dan Kneebone

Accepted Carried

5. Appointment of Executive Board members

- Current board members Jon Murie, Scott McKenzie and Steve Saunders are restanding and a further nomination from Pip Woodward from Otumoetai College.
- The successful appointments are Jon Murie Craigs Investment Partners, Scott McKenzie – PMG Funds and Steve Saunders – Robotics Plus.
- Thanks to Pip Woodward for standing.

6. Nigel Tutt, Chief Executive – Priority One review and update

- Priority One stands for prosperity of the region.
- Time of transition for Tauranga and WBOP factors driving change are strong and stable governance and TCC, focused on delivery.
- TECT changed Trust structure and University of Waikato have expansion plans for Tauranga campus.
- Private sector investment in the city.
- Economy performed well over last year or so, businesses positive apart from the lack of access to talent, unemployment quite low.
- Restructure at Priority One over the last year and its membership base. Highlights:-
 - Ara Rau Pathways to Work going from strength to strength, playing a vital role of getting people into jobs.
 - o Establishment of University of Waikato R&D Lab in Newton Street.
 - Stadium project progressing at business case stage.
 - Tauranga CBD Blueprint \$1.5bn worth of development at the time of printing, close to \$2bn now.

7. Craig Nees, Chair of BOP Youth Development

• Craig gave an introduction and overview of the BOP Youth Development Trust and the Youth Centre venue.

8. Talent section

- Introduction of the Priority One Talent Action Plan video.
- Tracey Cotter-Martin, Associate Director of Datacom shared her thoughts on what the future of work means for businesses and the staff they want to retain and attract.
- Eli Samuels, Rangitahi from Te Wharekura o Mauao spoke about the importance of clear pathways for Rangitahi and his own experiences.

6. General Business

- The Chair called for any general business or comments. None were raised.
- The Chair thanked the Priority One members and Executive Board. He also thanked the Priority One team and all their hard work and acknowledged the partnership with Toi Kai Rawa.
- Thanks to the key funders, Tauranga City Council, Western Bay District Council and TECT. Also the strategic platinum partners – Element IMF, Trustpower, Port of Tauranga and Zespri and recent new platinum partners Craigs Investment Partners, Ballance Agri-Nutrients.
- Closing karakia led by Turi Ngatai.

The Chair closed the AGM at 5.30pm

Signed:	Date: 12 December 2022
Chair	

APPENDIX 1 – ATTENDEES

Name Company

Christina Finlayson Ballance Agri-Nutrients

Mike Groves Beca

Craig Nees BOP Youth Development Trust Rob Dorey BSP Advisory Group Limited

Brett Hewlett Comvita

Jon Murie Craigs Investment Partners

Nick Pharo Cucumber

Michael Shaw Dale Carnegie BOP Waikato

Tracey Cotter-Martin Datacom Steve Swallow Datacom

Melissa Gillingham Education Tauranga

Kelli Simpson EMA

Kurt Cordice Enigmatic Global
Amy Bourke Fraemohs BOP
Simon Hunt Fraemohs BOP
Jayzel Borlaza Global Ambassadors

Simon Collett HOBEC

Sam Tabak Holland Beckett
Chris Duggan House of Science NZ
Andrew Knowles James & Wells
Kyla Faulkner-Keefe Kinetic Recruitment

Chris Williams King St Jason Chand MBIE

Carol Ngawati MBIE

Amiria Ngatai Ministry of Social Development
Maurice Pohatu Ministry of Social Development
Sarah Ellis Ministry of Social Development

Pip Woodward Otumoetai College Aifai Esera **Pacific Growth** Mark Irving **Priority One Darlene Sayers Priority One** Mary Stewart **Priority One** Meg Davis **Priority One** Melissa Mae Priority One Jill Beedie **Priority One Priority One Shane Stuart Greg Simmonds** Priority One Marissa Nikora Priority One **Dean Prendergast Priority One** Vee de Koster **Priority One Hugh Hutchison** Priority One **Nigel Tutt Priority One Gail Elliott** Priority One Meg Davis **Priority One** Mel Conrad **Priority One**

Laura Murphy Priority One Executive Board Scott McKenzie Priority One Executive Board

Dan Kneebone Priority One Executive Board Wayne Beilby **Priority One Executive Board Kevin Palmer** Priority One Executive Board **Steve Saunders Priority One Executive Board** Marty Grenfell Priority One Executive Board **Richard Hopkins** Priority One Executive Board Bill Holland Priority One Life Member Warren Banks Priority One Life Member Priority One Life Member Jon Mayson Lyndon Settle **Quayside Holdings**

Gillian Johnston **Sprout Customer Research** Matt Cowley Tauranga Business Chamber

Lisa Gilmour Tauranga City Council Tauranga City Council Anne Blakeway Glenda Rowlands Tauranga Girls' College Eli Samuels Te Wharekura o Mauao Tuihana Walker The Shine Collective Meg Jones The Shine Collective

Jo Nicol Tirama Kylie Smallman Toi Kai Rawa Katie Hungerford Toi Kai Rawa Pascale Hyboud Peron Venture Centre

James Denyer Western Bay of Plenty District Council

Jacqui Wren-Hilton Wharf42 Limited Richard Dey William Buck

Turi Ngatai

APPENDIX 2 – APOLOGIES

Name Company

Angie Warren-Clarke Labour MP

Bill Wasley TCC Commissioner
Anne Tolley TCC Commissioner
Dan Allen-Gordon Graeme Dingle Trust
Mark Wynne Ballance Agri-Nutrients
Fiona McTavish P1 board - BOPRC

Steven Vincent Basestation

Wayne Werder TECT

Jen Scoular NZ Avocados Alastair Rhodes BayTrust

John Holyoake P1 Board - WBOPDC

James Trevelyan Trevelyan's

Brendon Smith Maraama Consulting
Louise Buckley Katikati College
David Prentice Manawa Energy

Simon Tong Craigs Investment Partners
Murray Hill Priority One Life Member
Murray Denyer Priority One Life Member
Keith Tempest Priority One Life Member
Tony de Farias Priority One Life Member

Debbie Ireland ShareThePoint

Bruce McCutcheon Priority One Life Member Richard Cashmore Priority One Life Member

Simon Clarke Priority One Chair

Mike Rogers BOP Rugby Rachael Gemming Ernst Young

Peter Tinholt Priority One board

Stephen Butler Trevelyan's
Jaki Lee Papamoa College

Renee O'Neil Spark

Alastair Sinton Mount Maunganui College

Marcus Wilkins McKenzie Elvin Andy Suttoon DrivePM

James Sherson Young Read Woudberg

John Sternberg CKL

Sam Uffindell MP for Tauranga